Tetrapanax Rex - will it spout from main trunk again?

Stevo

Tetrapanax Rex - will it spout from main trunk again?

Post by Stevo »

Hi all,

This is my first time to the forum and I would love some advice if possible?

My TRex lost its growing tip this year and I was wonderig if it will sprout again fron lower down the main trunk?

I know it will pup etc, but I'll be gutted if I loose the main stem. It's 4 years old and 5 feet tall.

Any advice appreciated!

Thanks.
Steve
leewatson1980

Re: Tetrapanax Rex - will it spout from main trunk again?

Post by leewatson1980 »

Hi Stevo, yeah it should sprout from lower down, my T rex lost its growing point in winter but then sprouted 2 new buds lower down icon_cheers icon_cheers , and then got eaten by slugs :( , Im just hoping for more buds.

Lee
Stevo

Post by Stevo »

Cool. Some possible good news! Thanks.

I have been pretty worried about it!

Was yours covered up? Mine had straw and fleece around it (same as I do every year). But It seemed to get damp this year and the tip just rotted off. I don't think it was actually the cold.

The rest of the trunk is still solid so fingers crossed!

Thanks.
S
leewatson1980

Post by leewatson1980 »

I just put a bit of straw over the top and then forgot about it.

I planted mine out mid summer last year and it only got to about 6inch so they/it must be tough plants.

I would say yours will be fine if it has a solid trunk, probably best put some slug pellets down to be on the safe side.

Welcome to the forum by the way.

Lee
Adrian

Post by Adrian »

Mine has had damage to the growing points but I have buds at every old leaf base, not sure if they will all become branches or individual leaves, I would imagine branches.
Whatever, my Tetrapanax is going to have a different look compared to other years.
Madahlia

Post by Madahlia »

Mine was planted last spring, did well, but now looks like a dead stick in the ground. Any hope for it, do you think?
Mick C

Post by Mick C »