Paulownia Tomentosa

Dan L

Paulownia Tomentosa

Post by Dan L »

First year of growing from stooled trunk. Did not expect this, but its chucking out 90cm long leaves! Not sure if this is because of all the wet weather. Has anyone else had better than normal results with leaf size on these this year?
Attachments
SAM_0338.JPG
Tom2006

Re: Paulownia Tomentosa

Post by Tom2006 »

That looks great!! Fancy trying to grow one myself.
Most wanted list - Any Young Trachycarpus and/or fern.
Adam D

Post by Adam D »

That's great growth :)

Mine looks keek :( I have been growing it for 10 years and it really looks rubbish :lol:
Kerinsian

Post by Kerinsian »

I can only hope that the babies I've grown from seed this year one day look as good as that icon_thumleft
Dan L

Post by Dan L »

Thanks. Dunno what i did right here, but to prove the leaf's are that size...
Attachments
SAM_0349.JPG
Dave Brown
Site Admin

Post by Dave Brown »

Growth is down on previous years here, so any advantage from more water has been more than outweighed by lack of warmth and sun. Where as it normally holds it's leaves right down the stem, it is shedding them like it does in autumn :roll: Had a complete lack of spring, which has then turned to a dismal summer so not surprising really. :(
Attachments
2012-07-16 Paulownia 2011-12.jpg
Best regards
Dave
icon_thumright

Post by GoggleboxUK »

I'm surprised I've had any growth at all from mine after uprooting it from the raised bed under the conifers and potting it up for 3 months then replanting it in the ground. It's done OK considering, smaller leaves than last year but it still looks nice.
Mr List

Post by Mr List »