Help

bazman49

Help

Post by bazman49 »

Hi, I am new to palm growing, in fact I am new to gardening in general. Most of the palms I have are starting to get black ends on their tiips and other black discolouration on them. I have a jelly palm,Trachycarpus, all the tips seem to be getting brown or black, I am guessing I have overwatered them (daily) but would accept any advice from you other members as I dont want to lose them. thanks in advance. I have them all in pots and am using multi purpose compost. Image
Last edited by bazman49 on Sun Jul 06, 2008 7:15 am, edited 1 time in total.
Gaz

Re: Help

Post by Gaz »

Hi Baz

Did they take any cold weather over winter or were they sheltered away. A lot of palms dont like frozen roots.

A photo might help the palm boys id the problem more easily.

Welcome on board by the way :)
Gaz
bazman49

Post by bazman49 »

Thanks Gaz, I dont know about the weather thing as I have only just started collecting them, photo supplied as soon as I can find out how. Baz
Mick C

Post by Mick C »

Hi Baz, welcome.

You can attach photos from your PC by using the 'Upload attachment' bit just below the text box when you are writing a post - click on the 'browse' button next to Filename.
Dave Brown
Site Admin

Post by Dave Brown »

Hi Baz, and welcome to the forum 8)

The problem with palms is they may not show what they are feeling at the time. It could be overwatering, dryness or over feeding. Unlike other plants palms don't wilt so if it is too dry it won't show for a week or two, by which time it may not be dry. If the compost is very stodgy and moisture retentive you may need to take more care with watering, allowing the compost to dry out a little between waterings. The best compost for palms is free draining then watered frequently, and most multipurpose is not really suitable, as it does not drain. :roll: