Shade-loving exotics for my sun-biased garden?

col

Shade-loving exotics for my sun-biased garden?

Post by col »

Just looking out over my garden this morning and just noticed that there is a terrible bias towards sun-loving plants on the sunny side and pretty much naff-all on the shady side, save for my Dicksonia antarctica, Gunnera, and some ferns. I suppose most people end up with the same situation with the darkest garden recesses getting forgotten about.

To save me trawling through the internet and reams of RHS bumpf on my bookshelf, what are your star shade-loving exotic or just plain unusual trees or plants?

Col
Last edited by col on Wed Apr 08, 2009 12:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.
bobbyd44

Re: Shade-loving exotics for my sun-biased garden?

Post by bobbyd44 »

i have limited knowledge but i know my mouse plant is doing well!! i split it last year and now sprouted back as two big clumps
ChrisG

Post by ChrisG »

My garden is exactly the same, almost all focus on the sunny side with the other side being ignored and left half empty. But I do have a few plants in there that do well. The mouse plant as mentioned before, Arisarum Proboscideum, is a good performer in deep shade, it's just a shame it makes the flowers difficult to see. As are most Arisaemas. Lots of ferns obviously. I have a Schefflera Impressa planted in shade as well, although I have nothing to compare it to for growth rates it doesn't seem to mind at all. I know some people plant Trachys in full shade and have commented on the fact that you get a more delicate palm. I also have Fargesia Jiuzhaigou (a lovely purple stemmed bamboo) on that side, again it seems to do fine there and while it may not grow as fast, that is not a bad thing for bamboos.
Nathan

Post by Nathan »

Fatsia japonica look better in shade & a variagated one will help brighten up a dark corner... Good old Aspidistra's do well out in a shady spot in the garden too...
lee-ann

Post by lee-ann »