OT do you know whats wrong with my camera

SteveW

OT do you know whats wrong with my camera

Post by SteveW »

Afternoon all,
I'm having problems getting my laptop to access my camera.
I normally plug in the camera to the dock,then connect it to the laptopand turn the camera on.The computer then asks me what it wants me to do,ie view files,open with picassa etc.But when I do this it just opens to a blank file,says no device found or insert disc :?
Now I'm no expert,but something is definately wrong.
I've tried restarting the laptop,but no luck there.
I guess its not the cable as when the camera is awitched on the computer knows its connected.It just can't read whats there.Is it a camera or laptop problem?and is there anything I can do/try to solve it?
Steve
SteveW

Post by SteveW »

Problem not fixed,but I bought a card reader today and that works fine.
Steve
Dave Brown
Site Admin

Post by Dave Brown »

Steve is it a USB connection? These can play up and may need the drivers reloading. Sometimes things can play up after a software update. It knows something is there but if the driver is screwed, it doesn't know what. Did the camera come with a CD? What operating system you running... XP. Vista, Linux? and what version? :?

You can always try deleting the device using device manager (Operating system dependent) once deleted when you plug it in it should say new hardeware found, and ask to load the drivers. Don't delete the wrong one though :?

My son knows far more about PC configuration. He has been away for a few days but is back tomorrow morning. :wink:
Best regards
Dave
icon_thumright

Post by SteveW »

Hi Dave ,
Yes its a USB and I'm on XP although I've no idea what version :roll:
I think I'll try to reload the server and see what happens,in the meantime at least I've got a way to trasfer with the card reader.
Steve
Aidan Brown
Site Admin

Post by Aidan Brown »

Hi

Have you fixed the problem with the usb cable?