Dragon fruit cacti (pitaya) surviving outside!!!

doncasterpalmguy123

Dragon fruit cacti (pitaya) surviving outside!!!

Post by doncasterpalmguy123 »

Hello all. I have been growing a massive dragon fruit cactus for the last two years now. However this year it just got absolutely massive. It got so big that it snapped under its own weight in two different places. These two cuttings then rooted and i was stuck with three massive spiky cacti. A smaller one then collapsed and i ended up with four.
I then made a big decision that i really couldn't be bothered overwintering this massive pot and plants in my bedroom again. So i discarded the three big ones outside and kept the fourth smaller cutting in a small pot indoors. I kind of hoped the ones outside would die. Much to my disbelief they have not. They have been out since september and have injured frosts, loads of rain and wind. I can't believe they are still with us in december, i thought they was only hardy to about 2C. They've proved me wrong on that already.

So has anyone got a real idea of how hardy they are? I suppose i'll keep them if they survive. After all it did take a lot of effort importing the then tiny plant (in 2011) in my suitcase from florida.

I started the process thinking, give it another two years an i can just have the one smaller dragon fruit and i should have the facilities to cope with it when it grows. :lol:
Steph

Re: Dragon fruit cacti (pitaya) surviving outside!!!

Post by Steph »

Me again...

I have had them growing for years in baskets in the conservatory, had the plants before I knew what a dragon fruit was.
Had fruits start to form but never let them mature, may let a few go this time as its flowering at the moment.
Never kept them outside as I assumed it to be a no hoper but that's an interesting concept.
ianmck

Post by ianmck »