Alocasia x portora

derrick

Alocasia x portora

Post by derrick »

Portidora was a little slow the first year and the leaves went a little yellow .It was ok in hot spot with lots of water .I overwinter it in southfacing window in a small pot the roots have grown down into the water tray .This Alocasia seem to love lots water even in the home over winter im just learning
derrick

Re: Alocasia Portidora Portdora

Post by derrick »

How to get the size on it ?
Attachments
DSCF2236.JPG
Dave Brown
Site Admin

Re: Alocasia Portidora Portdora

Post by Dave Brown »

The major point you are making here, is that if you have a hot position to overwinter it, it will continue to grow, so can be watered. As most of us don't have a 'hot spot', it either sits there not doing much, or the roots rot right back to the rhizome and the plant goes dormant over winter. Sitting a stationary or dormant rhizome in water is a guaranteed rot scenario :ahhh!:

So, yes leave in water if you have a 'hot spot', if you don't, don't :wink:
Best regards
Dave
icon_thumright

Re: Alocasia x portora

Post by derrick »

Thats it Dave even in poor light as long as warm the year before it was in my living room nothing survive that room as poor light. Im going to order some more Alocasia this year i love the things Calidora & Odora
sanatic1234

Post by sanatic1234 »

I grow the calidora and odora derrick. They are great plants and I would not be without them. I dont have the x portora yet. This is on my want list a long with other alocasias. Yours looks fine and you have a new roller emerging I see so it is happy.
Yorkshire Kris
Location: Rural South Wakefield, Yorkshire Lat 53.64 Long-1.54

Post by Yorkshire Kris »

portora has overwintered well for me this winter, far better than any colocasia. It did look like it was going dormant by late Feb/early March as it was in a very cool area of the house (10-15 degrees) so moved it to the green house where the extra light and daytime heat has really helped.