Sauromatum venosum 'Indian Giant'

Palmer

Sauromatum venosum 'Indian Giant'

Post by Palmer »

the Indian Giant Voodoo Lily is an impressive form with overall much larger and broader proportions than the normal form, it has taller stalks with fewer dark spots on them and the corm/tubers are twice the size… the flowers are bigger too.
Normal form, 50 to 70cm.
Indian Giant, 100 to 130cm.

Sauromatum was placed in Typhonium and after that was done, they then conducted DNA analysis and found that it should have stayed in its own genus Sauromatum :lol:

It’s just as hardy as the normal form… I’ve been growing them for several years now :)
So if you would like to try a bigger Voodoo lily keep a look out on eBay they do come up for sale from time to time and you often see them on German eBay.

This bulb/tuber is 14cm across but they can get to nearly twice that size.

Edit; Ben is selling them and at a good price too icon_thumright

http://bencandlin.co.uk/plant-sales/sau ... dian-giant
Arlon Tishmarsh

Re: Sauromatum venosum 'Indian Giant'

Post by Arlon Tishmarsh »

Good sized tuber icon_thumleft

I grew sauromatum venosum for the first time last year. I think mine was the standard type . It had a nice purple / yellow spathe even if it was short lived. The foliage was long lasting and quite different / interesting. There's a pic of mine in flower here.........

http://www.hardytropicals.co.uk/forum/v ... &start=765

The only other voodoo's i have are dracunculus vulgaris. All the tubers / corms of both types seem to bulk up very quickly . One thing i've learned / noticed with my tubers / corms is that bits that have accidently broken off, no matter how small, have all started to sprout as well .

Must look into a few other varieties
Last edited by Arlon Tishmarsh on Thu Feb 14, 2013 12:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.
grub

Post by grub »

Is it very hardy?
Palmer

Post by Palmer »