Musa basjoo seedling tips on growing.

doncasterpalmguy123

Musa basjoo seedling tips on growing.

Post by doncasterpalmguy123 »

Hello everyone I've recently purchased a small musa basjoo banana plant via amazon. I really don't want to kill it but its my first time growing banana plants, I'm more of a palm guy hence my username! :lol: Anyway i would really love your advice on growing feeding watering etc. Here is a youtube video showing you my specimen: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QduNd5j1 ... 0XWIA3Z0Sg
Attachments
Also can anyone enlighten me as to what these brown spots are on this leaf? Should i be worried. My first thought was that its cold damage, probably left in a greenhouse at the nursery i purchased it from? Please share your thoughts.
Also can anyone enlighten me as to what these brown spots are on this leaf? Should i be worried. My first thought was that its cold damage, probably left in a greenhouse at the nursery i purchased it from? Please share your thoughts.
flounder

Re: Musa basjoo seedling tips on growing.

Post by flounder »

A quick summary of what I would do.
repot in a slightly larger pot in a 50/50 mix of multi purpose compost/perlite. If you're keeping it indoors, compost only needs to be very slightly damp....DO NOT over water.
End of March it might need repotting again, same mix but you can step up the watering. Miracle grow an be used indoors, but in the warmer months outside(because you don't want smelly stuff indoors) you can also use a compost tea, pelleted poultry manure, homemade compost etc. When it's really starting to spurt, you can't feed it enough or water it too much but free draining, not sitting in water.
That leaf looks like cold water damage nothing to worry about. Also it looks like a tissue cultured plant, not a seedling :wink:
That's enough to get you going, loads of threads on here icon_thumleft
doncasterpalmguy123