Palms and other tropicals for northern england

Adam r

Palms and other tropicals for northern england

Post by Adam r »

Hi

I am fairly new to tropical gardening and I was wondering what people have been able to grow with or without winter protection in northern England, especially the north east. Has anyone in the northeast managed to grow Phoenix canariensis_CIDP or washingtonia for more than one season outdoors and what protection was used?
billdango

Re: Palms and other tropicals for northern england

Post by billdango »

Hello Adamr.

I can't really answer your question about what grows in the north east of the UK but there are some forum members who live in your part of the world who I am sure will give you all the assistance you will need.

What you can grow there will be grown under different conditions then on the south coast.

rgds billdango icon_thumleft
Conifers

Post by Conifers »

Phoenix canariensis was doing fine in a Newcastle front garden for several years, until the 2009-10 and 2010-11 winters hit. The first knocked them back badly, and the second put an end to them.

July 2009:
Phoenix_canariensis_Newcastle3.jpg
Trudytropics

Post by Trudytropics »

Hi Adam I'm in Newcastle, in my garden I have:-

3 - Trachycarpus Fortuneii
4 - Chamearops humilis
4 - Phoenix canariensis
5 - Fatsias, including variagated and polycarpa
3 - Cordylines, Torbay dazzler and plain green one :?
1 - Miscanthus zebrinus
3 - phormiums
1 - Dasylirion
2 - Brunnera Jack frost
Various hostas and a few other things i've forgotten. Plus a lot of bamboo, 3 different species. T rex also