Germinating banana seed in perlite??

Forum rules
This section is for discussion on all methods of plant propagation
stevieboy1

Germinating banana seed in perlite??

Post by stevieboy1 »

Just been looking up ways to sew banana seeds as I've got 3 lots comming in the mail fresh seed,,,,so I'm told lol but will see.

I can't decide what woul be the best and easiest way to go being I'm new to growing tropical things. I came across a thread on some other site that they are saying growing banana seed in just per soaked perlite.

Could I germinate them in perlite after they have had there few days soak? If this would work i think it would be good for me.

What do you all think good bad?
What would you all say is the best method if I can't use perlite?

Thank you in advance
& happy growing
Steve ;-)
Somerset77

Re: Germinating banana seed in perlite??

Post by Somerset77 »

Hi Steve check out my thread below this one.

It does depend n freshness I think but I always use a propagator with variable temp that can reach 40 degrees (but never use it that high). I also soak them in very warm water (bordering on hot) and change it twice a day for at least 2 days then just sow in normal seed compost.
In the last 12 months I've grown ensetes, sikkis and now Nagensium (giant banana) and zebrina.

Hope this helps icon_thumleft
stevieboy1

Post by stevieboy1 »

It was reading your post that made me make a posting. :wink: I dont have a propagator but my airing cubords sits around 30 most of the time only droping to 28 and very low 25ish if ive left the door open for too long lol.
So Im hoping I can use that.

Ive got 3 lots comming in the mail:

Musa Zebrina x10
Musa velutina x10
Ensete glaucum x10