Page 1 of 1

Cyathea Overwintering

Posted: Tue Oct 04, 2011 11:30 am
by pdid
Do cyathea`s need any light through the winter?

I have two small Australis and one small Cooperi. The Cooperi is not a problem as it`s tiny so can go in the conservatory. The Australis are in much larger pots and will go either in the garage or the loft, neither of which have a window. I suppose they could be moved outside during milder spells but would like to limit this if possible. Loft and garage are frost free and the con is heated.

Cheers
Phil

Re: Cyathea Overwintering

Posted: Tue Oct 04, 2011 7:50 pm
by Yorkshire Kris
They don't need much light in winter. Mine little ones were fine last winter tucked under the greenhouse bench

Re: Cyathea Overwintering

Posted: Tue Oct 04, 2011 8:32 pm
by pdid
Thanks Kris

Re: Cyathea Overwintering

Posted: Tue Oct 04, 2011 8:48 pm
by Yorkshire Kris
My new austalis will go into the garage. Bit of an experiment but as I intend to plant it out in the future, if it can't survive in the garage it wont survive outdoors! Hopefully it will be fine as they live in the same areas as Dicksonia antarctica.

Re: Cyathea Overwintering

Posted: Wed Oct 05, 2011 10:47 am
by Stuart Bebb
my experience with C.australis is that its no were near as hardy as D. antartica so i'd get it indoors if you can .
cheers Stuart

Re: Cyathea Overwintering

Posted: Wed Oct 05, 2011 11:03 am
by gabriel
My will be going to the greenhouse,when its going to get really cold
G

Re: Cyathea Overwintering

Posted: Wed Oct 05, 2011 5:05 pm
by Yorkshire Kris
Stuart Bebb wrote:my experience with C.australis is that its no were near as hardy as D. antartica so i'd get it indoors if you can .
cheers Stuart
How big are/were your C australis?

Re: Cyathea Overwintering

Posted: Wed Oct 05, 2011 5:09 pm
by pdid
How cold does your garage get Kris?

Mine is attached to the house so stays frost free so I would be a little upset to loose the ferns in there.

Re: Cyathea Overwintering

Posted: Wed Oct 05, 2011 5:10 pm
by Yorkshire Kris
pdid wrote:How cold does your garage get Kris?

Mine is attached to the house so stays frost free so I would be a little upset to loose the ferns in there.
-5 at worst

Re: Cyathea Overwintering

Posted: Wed Oct 05, 2011 5:37 pm
by Arlon Tishmarsh
I bring mine indoors like Stuart. My experience of cyathea is they don't like anything approaching the minus'. My 2 cooperi are now about 6ft tall by 9ft span and last winter the first frost browned the fronds straight away. Its my first year with a medularis but that'll get the same treatment as well

Re: Cyathea Overwintering

Posted: Wed Oct 05, 2011 5:44 pm
by Yorkshire Kris
My small cooperi and med will be in the greenhouse for winter. I.ll risk the new australis.