Cordyline problem.

karl66

Cordyline problem.

Post by karl66 »

I planted a large 12ft specimen at the bottom of the garden last november, i did raise it slightly because of the natural spring we have under the garden in this area, but the last few wks it has been literally submerged in 6inches of water around the trunk!!, I'm sure i read on this forum that cordys dont like root disturbance but i really could do with lifting it slightly & building it onto a higher mound?, whats the best way for me to tackle the problem. karl.
GoggleboxUK

Re: Cordyline problem.

Post by GoggleboxUK »

I remeber watching a Bear Grylls episode where he was wading waist deep through swampland that was covered in Cordys. Maybe they were all on the banks but it looked like they were in the water.

Sean will know if they are OK in water I suspect.
Troppoz

Post by Troppoz »

Sorry Ive fallen short of expectations again Gogg :oops: I have very little experience with Cordyline australis. I do think they can take poor drainage but once again wet soil/cold could be a different thing.

Karl is it showing any signs of not coping with the water? Yellowing leaves or mushy round the base? Id probably monitor it rather than disturb it unnecessarily but then again its a 12 feet tall plant so its not a loss you could just brush off. Maybe post some pics for us to have a look at?
Andy P

Post by Andy P »