Red frog

Forum rules
Same as all HTUK forums, be courteous, polite and tolerant, remember everyone is entitled to an opinion, even if you don't agree with it ;)
Javeo

Red frog

Post by Javeo »

Clearing up some beds yesterday and found this red frog, the pic doesn't show how red it actually was. It's the first time I've seen a funny coloured common frog and as someone who keeps and used to breed tropical frogs its a nice change from the muddy green you usually see.
Attachments
image.jpg
Trudytropics

Re: Red frog

Post by Trudytropics »

Beautiful frog and looks unusual (although I'm no expert :lol: ) He'd be welcome in my garden, keep the snails from munching my hostas.
GoggleboxUK

Post by GoggleboxUK »

I've heard of this before and it seems to be on the increase. One theory is that it's down to inbreeding due to loss of habitat but British frogs and toads have always varied greatly in colour and markings.

Interestingly, amongst tropical species red is always the colour of danger and serves as a warning to predators that their potential next meal is poisonous. Perhaps we're seeing an evolution to save a species.

Incidentally, I saw my forst Bumble Bee of the year yesterday, hopefully a dry summer will help bulk out the numbers of bees and butterflys.
kata

Post by kata »

Thank your lucky stars its not one of these,
Blue-Poison-Dart-Frog.jpg
:ahhh!:
Clive60

Post by Clive60 »

Red does seem to appear in Common Frogs and yours is a bigg'un :lol: , looks like a female who has already ejected the eggs.
My fire Bellied Toads have orange/red markings on the underside indicating their toxicity.
kata

Post by kata »

Incidentally, I saw my forst Bumble Bee of the year yesterday,
Seen my ones last week, follows me everywhere.

icon_cheers
Javeo

Post by Javeo »