Hi all - need some advice for tropical garden

rjas14

Hi all - need some advice for tropical garden

Post by rjas14 »

Hi everyone,

I was wondering if anyone might be able to help me - I live in Buckinghamshire and I am looking for some help/advice wih creating a hardy tropical garden. My garden is north facing and isn't very big. Using strides for measuring the garden, the measurements are as follows: Front of garden - 8 strides; Rear of garden - 6 strides; Length of garden -13 strides.

It is a new house, and so I'll be starting the garden from scratch. The garden has been turfed and I need some advice with the plantscape design around the turf. Can anyone recommend good hardy tropical plants that won't die in winter?

Also, can anyone recommend the best place to buy high (approx 2 metres) bamboo plants for screening at an affordable price?
GoggleboxUK

Re: Hi all - need some advice for tropical garden

Post by GoggleboxUK »

Hi Rjas, welcome to the forum. I'm a newbie here too and there's lots to be learned by reading through the different sections here.

What kind of look are you hoping for? There are many plants that are hardy and a whole lot more that, with the right positioning and winter protection, will do very well.

Do you have anywhere to overwinter plants? (greenhouse/conservatory/spare room etc)?

I suppose the main factors are how much you want to spend and how much work you're prepared to put in.

There are many talented and experienced people here and I'm sure you'll end up with a great looking garden.
grub

Post by grub »

Welcome aboard Rjas icon_thumleft , Use Trachycarpus Palms and Bamboo's for your framework and you should be able to provide year round interest :D. Where in Bucks are you? I'm maybe not far off and neither's Jezza .
kata

Post by kata »

One of my favorites

Butia capitata