Aspidistra

beryl

Aspidistra

Post by beryl »

Hello. Good wishes to everyone. I'm a newbie here and open to good advice concerning Aspidistra elatior. I've been growing them for over twenty years as house plants. I have sold some too. Up to now they have been plain green with the very odd one or two white spots on the leaves. Recently I have aquired a 'three large leaf division' from an Aspidistra sichuansensis. This Aspi I'm really excited about. These leaves have yellow spots all over them! The experience that I have gained in growing the above plants, I hope will be of use to someone. The Aspi Sichi I don't know much about, but believe it is not as hardy as the elatior above. Winter of 2010/11 saw one of Aspi in open porch in all that ice and snow. It is growing well in the house now and I'm looking for new shoots in the near future. I had pink star-like flowers on two of the indoor Aspi plants winter of 2010/2011. This is the first and only time in over twenty years of growing them. I imagine Fungal Gnats are the reason, or Amphipod, I think I saw one on a leaf. It can't be snails or slugs as they have never been outside. icon_study icon_study Beryl.
Trudytropics

Re: Aspidistra

Post by Trudytropics »

Welcome Beryl, sorry don't know the first thing about aspidistra, other than the Victorians liked them :lol: , hopefully someone on here will know a thing or two about them. Enjoy the forum :D
Steph

Post by Steph »

Hi & welcome,
The only time I've noticed flowers on an Aspi is when I have been repotting them, they are usually close to or just below the soil level so you tend to miss them.
Odd looking things, you certainly wouldn't grow Aspis for their flowers.
The new one sounds interesting.
billdango

Post by billdango »

Both forms of the aspidistra grow well outside in a shady corner.

Lots of gardens including my own have specimens that have come through the last 3 winters with minimal damage.