Cheshire Tropics

Jonty2

Cheshire Tropics

Post by Jonty2 »

Hi everyone, I started my 'Jungle' last year starting with the following. I have no experience and just pick what I like the look of and following a bit of research about it, I also have plants that were gifts that don't really fit in but my borders are not full so I need to take what I can! I like the exotic, tropical jungle look and hopefully will achieve something similar in the coming years. I have probably mixed plants which experienced people will disapprove of but again I am just looking for a mix of colour, different shapes, some quick growers, low ground covering plants and palms.

In 2018 I had:
2 x Trachycarpus Fortunei
1 x Cordyline (although there are 3 together making one big show, may need advice on how to split these at some point)
1 x Phormium
1 x Musa Basjoo (I've mentioned this in the Banana section, just uncovered and doesn't look healthy :( )
4 x Canna (Rhizomes have just been plants, fingers crossed they grow again this year!)
2 x Camelia (Gifts)
2 x Rhododendron (Gifts)
1 x Beatrix Forsythia (Gift)
3 x Yucca (Going to put these into pots as they are too spiky for the dogs)
Lots of Lupins which I plants from seed as I was bored (These are looking really good!)
1 x Capagnula
1 x Sedum

2019 I've just added:
1 x Phormium
1 x Dicksonia Antartica
2 x Fatsia Japonicas
1 x Choisa Sundance
2 x Photini Red Robin
1 x Salvia
2 x Musa Basjoo
3 x Hosta
I also planted some Rudbekia and Crocosmia from seed so will see how these get on.

I want a Musa Sikkimensis too but I dubious after uncovering the Basjoo and finding it was rotten.

If everything settles in then the garden should look really good in a couple of years.
Chez2

Cheshire Tropics

Post by Chez2 »

Hello. Sounds like a nice mix. We have a exotic / tropical style in one small area but ours isn't jungle. we also have arid / Mediterranean areas. Do you have a greenhouse or somewhere to keep tender plants in winter?
tatter