Hi guys, thanks for accepting me....Advice needed!!

ryanknight1521

Post by ryanknight1521 »

My name is Ryan and I live in Glossop, Derbs. I have been gardening for a couple of years and I have swayed more and more towards tropical and exotic. I started with the good old trachycarpus fortunei which is now around 5ft, a cordyline that has grown quickly to around 9ft as well as various ferns. Last year I planted a small washingtonia robusta, a chamaerops humilis, a canary island date palm, a lgood size fatsia, fargesia rufa and a T rex plant. For my 40th in September I was bought a stunning 7ft tree fern too, from the very helpful palm tree company. My fern has been wrapped and has straw in and around the crown, the palms have been wrapped and also covered in straw even though I know my fortunei and cordyline are bulletproof. I have put plenty of straw in the crown on of the canary island date palm and then wrapped in fleece although I have just read to put a plastic bag over the top of the fleece. I didn't do this so I hope the little fella is ok. It was a trial really to check if it was ok outside and if it is I have seen much bigger ones available at the palm tree company. My T rex is just a baby and I have covered in a thick layer of mulch, so again I am hoping the little guy is ok. I amy add another this year too if it's ok.
I am now planning further time and expense giving my garden a more jungle feel. I have built my pet 6ft iguana a large 9ft outdoor enclosure for warm days. I am also adding a pond and have worked hard over xmas digging out the hole, my back did not enjoy the experience. I have done plenty of research online but would love some advice from people that have experience with these plants and trees, any advice would be appreciated. I am looking to add..

Musa Basjoo.....Are these genuinely going to be successfully overwintered in the North of England. I am planning on buying one around 5ft.